Mythological Beasts and Spirits: Valkyries (cont.)

Oops! I lied. I was originally going to do something different. It’s been an uncommonly busy summer for my wife and for me, and school is about to start again for both of us (the school nurse and the college professor). What I’m trying to say is that I’m feeling lazy, so I’m going to try to get by with some additional pictures I drew of a Valkyrie for my story poem, The Fear of a Farmer. I’ve been writing ad nauseum that it’s copyrighted but not yet published. Due to the many illustrations, it is taking me a long time to get it formatted.

I wrote last week, that portraying Valkyries requires some tricks with picture composition in order to make them more evocative. I obviously chose adding wings, but most artists don’t do this. In addition, I wanted to develop the visual character of Anni, the Valkyrie, by doing a portrait and playing with her facial expressions. In this picture, she is giving the farmer the instructions he must follow to save his village from an oncoming invasion.

new project 102

The following illustration shows her pondering the fate of the farmer. I added an inquisitive sea gull to accentuate the mood.

new project 97

Finally, I tried a different action pose because, well, it just sort of blew into my mind and wouldn’t leave. In this rendering, she is reaching into the ocean to save the farmer from drowning.

new projectn79

Well, that’s it. I told you I was feeling lazy. Next week, I’ll take on another entity.

3 thoughts on “Mythological Beasts and Spirits: Valkyries (cont.)”

  1. Hello Robert,

    I know the feeling. Laziness has cost me much progress with my writing projects.

    I like your drawings, particularly the one with the inquisitive seagull, which made me smile. As someone who can’t even draw stick men you seem talented to me. Writer and artist? Double portion of giftedness!
    Have a blessed week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

